Poem 7 (Collection 3)

Can you hear the quiet that has settled in this room?
Can you hear the occasional chirp of birds outside
sitting on rain-washed branches of neem trees?
Can you hear the silence that is speaking to your mind?
Can you hear my heart beat inside your dark ribbed walls?
Can you see my hand rise and fall on your chest?
Can you hear me whisper sweet nothings into your ears?
Can you feel my finger trace your skin across your shoulders and waist?
Now that you hear it all, within and beyond the room’s parched yellow walls,
will you miss me tonight
after I have gone,
when you lie alone on your bed?
Will your heart scream for me?
Will you make love to me again
before the night falls?

One thought on “Poem 7 (Collection 3)

Leave a Reply

