A Tale of Miracles

It’s one of those working weekdays, when I wake up even before my alarm goes off and I don’t want to go back to sleep. I remember falling asleep the previous night, while watching the gateway to abstract dreams open and close. As every second trickled by, I was inching closer to the abyss of sleep. The journey to that bottomless pit was beautiful. I will remember every scene from every abstract dream that will most likely translate themselves into full stories for my new book the next morning.

I yawned and tried not to think of the day that blissfully flew by. It was another day today, another sun rising in the east, another addition to the calendar of my life. I looked behind through the mosquito-meshed window that was lodged crookedly into a stretch of green wall. I noticed that the sky still had tints of grey splattered across a vast blue. The sun was playing coy with rain-dodged clouds. Shouldn’t it be the day when I wanted to slyly slip back under the bed sheets and drift back into dear sleep and dreams? But today wasn’t that kind of day. So, I pushed away the bed sheets that I wrapped myself into at night, rolled over to my right to look at my wingless angel. He was sunken in sleep, his chest rising and falling so gracefully, and his body limp – he looked so beautiful, that I sent out a silent “Amen” to the heavens.

I inched closer to him and snuggled him awake. He was unwilling to give in. I caressed him with kisses, persistent to wake him up. I wanted him to give me a miracle – the miracle of his smile. And he did so with eyes still stuck shut. He mumbled a “good morning” but that wasn’t enough. I could see myself growing greedy for more of that smile, for more of that miracle. I nudged him with more kisses. He wriggled drowsily out of my closeness and turned towards me. He flung his right arm carelessly around my neck, dragged himself back closer to me and mumbled again, “good morning”. I smiled and said, “Good morning, baby. Won’t you sing a song for me?”

In his groggy voice, he hummed, “Heart beats fast, colors and promises, How to be brave? How can I love when I’m afraid to fall? But watching you stand alone, all of my doubts suddenly goes away somehow” and hugged me tighter. Yes, a thousand years and he still found me, a thousand years more, and I will find him back again. I was already choking with the tears that surprised themselves into that moment. As though knowing that this is what he intended to do to me, he traced his palm to my cheeks, and wiped those tears away.

He opened his eyes and sealed the moment saying, “I love you, amma.”

5 thoughts on “A Tale of Miracles

Leave a Reply

