January 4

There were always little secrets that I kept hidden in my treasure trove. They were to me like precious and rare gems that could not be shared or found with someone else. They were solidified parts of my soul. I would occasionally give one of those gems to someone I wanted to trust them with. A friend. A lover. A child. A stranger. Sometimes, I would be generous and give a little more than one. As time passed, I would come to realise that some trashed them away as invaluable pieces of rocks, some misplaced them, some forgot about their existence, some toyed around with them, and some bartered them to save themselves.

But there were some that kept them safe just as their own. They were my favourite kind to trust, because secrets were mine to give and theirs to keep.

Leave a Reply

